The aims of the WHELF Metadata Group are as follows:

  • To establish and develop a community of training and practice for WHELF cataloguers and metadata specialists
  • To identify and collaborate on projects to enhance metadata quality across WHELF institutions
  • To identify and maximise opportunities for sharing WHELF bibliographic metadata nationally and internationally
  • To advise WHELF on metadata issues in joint purchasing.



Chair: Ian Evans (National Library of Wales)

Secretary: Karen Pierce (Cardiff University)

CILIP Metadata & Discovery Group rep: Anna Smith (Cardiff University)


Marie Bevan (Swansea University)

Zoe Collyer-Strutt (Wrexham University)

Lesley Cresswell (University of Wales Trinity Saint David)

Sue Davies (Cardiff University)

Jonathan Davies (Aberystwyth University)

Sian Drake (National Library of Wales)

Ken Gibb (Cardiff University)

Helen Griffiths (Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama)

Ann-Marie Hinde (National Library of Wales)

Galen Jones (Open University in Wales)

Chrissie Ley Hughes (Bangor University)

Helen Payton (Cardiff University)

Amy Staniforth (Aberystwyth University)

Lynda Thomas (University of South Wales)

Alison Westmaas (Cardiff University)

Natalie Williams (University of Wales Trinity Saint David)

Richard Williams (Bangor University)

TBC (Cardiff Metropolitan University)