Access and Borrowing Schemes

Students and staff in higher education

Higher education students and staff can access most of our libraries via SCONUL Access. SCONUL Access allows many university library users reciprocal access at other libraries which belong to the scheme. For more details and how to apply click here.


Other access schemes

WHELF institutions are also members of  a number of cross-sectoral and community borrowing schemes to allow access to their library for the general public and the local community.

Libraries Together Passport Scheme

The Libraries Together Passport Scheme enables any members of Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Powys and Pembrokeshire public, FE, HE, or NHS/Health library services to access or borrow* from any of the institutions listed.


WHELF institutions

Aberystwyth University

Amgueddfa Cymru-National Museum Wales

Bangor University

Cardiff University

Cardiff Metropolitan University

National Library of Wales

Natural Resources Wales

Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama

Swansea University

University of South Wales

University of Wales Trinity St David

Wrexham University

Please note that access to each WHELF member institution is at the discretion of the host institution and can be withdrawn at any time. All borrowers wishing to access the universities of Wales must abide by the host institutions own policies, rules and regulations.