WHELF EDI Group Terms of Reference & Membership


Purpose of group

The WHELF Equality Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Group was initially established in response to the Black Lives Matter protests in 2020. The group exists to demonstrate our collective commitment to EDI through positive and co-ordinated action, bringing our collective strength to bear to increase the inclusivity of our services – both for our users and for our staff.


Mission and Aims

    • Provide leadership for WHELF around all EDI activities, developing expertise and making recommendations to the WHELF Board and WHELF groups to feed into all areas of our practice.
    • Undertake a review of WHELF policies, structures, procedures and practices and make written recommendations for increasing and embedding inclusion across our networks.
    • Liaise with other professional networks working in this area, including SCONUL, CILIP, DILON (Diversity in Libraries of the North), ARLIS Equity Steering Group, ARCW and from adjacent sectors such as Museum Detox to share expertise and collaborate.
    • Develop an ongoing programme of actions and events to move the EDI agenda forward.



    • Recommendations for WHELF to take forward to ensure WHELF is a more equitable professional body. These should cover both short and longer-term initiatives.
    • A programme of training sessions and events delivered to WHELF members, and the wider professional body, on the themes of equality, diversity, anti-racism, and decolonisation/diversification.
    • Organise and host a regular conference on Excluded Voices across our collections and service


    Catherine Finch – Chair, University of South Wales

    Charity Dove– Vice-Chair, Cardiff University


    Joy Cadwallader – Aberystwyth University

    Connie Davage – University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

    Judith Dray – Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama

    Olivia Edmonds – University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

    Gary Elliott-Cirigottis – The Open University/OU in Wales

    Suzy Fisher – University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

    Lori Havard – Swansea University

    Jenny Jones – Cardiff Metropolitan University

    Jenny Jones – Wrexham University

    Nicola Jones – Cardiff University

    Angela Jones-Evans – Cardiff University

    Yasmin Noorani – Bangor University

    Philippa Price – Swansea University