WHELF supports a Copyright Group to share expertise and disseminate information in Welsh higher education libraries.

Terms of Reference: 

To attempt to influence, when appropriate, UUK, the CLA and other licensing agencies on a full range of copyright issues pertaining to HEIs in Wales.

To share best practice amongst those responsible for copyright in Welsh HEIs.

To inform both copyright officers and other practitioners within HEIs and in related outside organisations.

To disseminate information about copyright issues amongst staff and students via VLEs and other communication channels as appropriate.

To seek answers to specific questions.

To consider and compare the copyright licences available to HEIs.


  • A lead representative from each Higher Education Institution in Wales who is responsible for copyright.
  • A representative from the National Library of Wales.
  • A nominated second representative from each institution to attend meetings as necessary.
  • At each meeting a member shall act as host and chair.

Joint Chairs:  Marie Lancaster (Cardiff Metropolitan University) / Scott Pryor (Cardiff University)

Aberystwyth University: Jonathan Davies
Bangor University: Jenny Greene
Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama: Megan Wiley
University of South Wales: Rachael Johnson
Swansea University: Caroline Rauter (Steve Williams)
University of Wales Trinity St David: Emily Hywel
Wrexham Glyndwr University: Nicola Watkinson